In 1999 the Capital Striders started a scholarship program for high school cross-country athletes in Polk county. One $500 scholarship was awarded the first year. The number of awards and the amount per scholarship has continued to grow; we currently present five $1200.00 scholarships annually.

Three scholarships are named after supporters of Capital Striders. Dave Hurd was an avid runner and patron of running and wellness in Central Iowa. Chuck Jipp, who lost his battle with ALS in 2000, was a long-time Striders Board Member, volunteer, and runner. Stan Smith was one of the first members of the organized version of the Capital Striders, and contributed endlessly to the running community whether it be youth programs, high school, collegiate, or lifetime. The fourth scholarship, for 2017, is named the Kinetic Edge Scholarship with special thanks to Kinetic Edge Physical Therapy and Todd Schemper, a long-time Strider, who've donated additional scholarship funds.

Scholarship Information

  • For 2017, the Capital Striders Scholarship is a $1,200 non-renewable award
  • Applicant must have applied and been accepted at a college, university or vocational school of his or her choice
  • Receiving the award does not preclude the applicant from applying for and accepting other scholarships, loans, grants or other aid
  • Applicant need not participate in college athletics
  • A committee consisting of four to six Capital Striders members will screen the applications. The committee will notify the recipient(s) by e-mail no later than May 1st
  • All other things being equal, scholastic achievement will be the deciding factor
  • Application forms may be secured from the high school counselor’s office or the Capital Striders' website.


  • Must be a graduating senior from a Polk County high school
  • Must be a student in good standing
  • Must have been a senior cross-country letter winner
  • Must have been accepted at a college, university or vocational school


  • Completed, typed, and signed Application form 
  • High school transcript through seven semesters
  • Counselor’s recommendation
  • Cross-country or athletic director’s recommendation


Send all requirements to:

Capital Striders Scholarship Committee

P.O. Box 31069

Des Moines, IA 50310

All requirements must be postmarked by the last Friday in March to be considered

Please do not send by certified mail–it creates delays

2017 Capital Striders Scholarship Application

For additional information, please e-mail

Past Scholarship Winners


Carson Cary, Roosevelt HS

Carson Cary, Roosevelt HS

Erik Miller, Urbandale HS

Erik Miller, Urbandale HS

Kate Smith, Ankeny Centennial HS

Kate Smith, Ankeny Centennial HS

Megan Watson, Urbandale HS

Megan Watson, Urbandale HS

2014 Skylar Wetzel Ankeny High School
Ashley Norem Urbandale High School
Ashley Swift Bondurant-Farrar High School
Kaliana Villa Dowling Catholic HIgh School
2013 J.D. Benson Dowling High School
Erin Boggess Dowling High School
Houa Xeng Vang Des Moines High School
Nicole Benson Urbandale High School
2012 Christopher Caracci Johnston High School
Hannah Vestal Dowling High School
Samantha Snodgrass North High School
2011 Tanelle Berard Dowling Catholic High School
Drew Prescott Urbandale High School
Kelsey McDougal Roosevelt High School
2010 Learie Jones Des Moines East High School
Dawn Gildersleeve North Polk High School
John Freude Des Moines Roosevelt
2009 Elizabeth Cline North High School
Rhiley Huntington Valley
Sam Reeve Southeast Polk
2008 Stephanie Mundt Urbandale
Lute Olson Ankeny
Olga Nikolayenko Valley
2007 Kaitlin Showalter Dowling Catholic
Andrew White Ankeny
Nicole Wilson Urbandale
2006 Andrew Bishop Dowling Catholic
Hannah Roeder Roosevelt
Allison Showalter Dowling Catholic
Kristopher Spoth Ankeny
2005 Sara Ann Schoneberg Hoover
Kiel Uhl Roosevelt
Jordan Seaberg Johnston
Sara Hendrickson Southeast Polk
2004 Paige Gruis Lincoln
Kevin Kooienga Urbandale
Preston Franklin Southeast Polk
Thomas Hansell Ankeny
2003 Julie Crow Johnston
Amy Goode North
John Wesley Megivern Ankeny
Mary Quinn Vermie Southeast Polk
2002 Kathryn Freel East
Nathan White Southeast Polk
Andrew Johnson Roosevelt
Larisa Nordstrom Valley
2001 Colin Pogge Urbandale
Joe Wickart Roosevelt
2000 Marcus Murphy Ankeny
Sarah Martineau East
1999 Bryony Jones Ankeny